Council of Chapters

The Council of Chapters was created in April 2014 by a vote of the general membership of the Florida Native Plant Society that reorganized the Society and adopted new Bylaws. Prior to the 2014 reorganization, one Chapter Representative from each Chapter statewide sat as a Director on the FNPS Board (about 37 Representatives in theory, but about half that were typically present and voting). Reducing the size of the Board was a significant goal of reorganization, so the Council of Chapters was created and made to be represented by three Directors (Article 7.02), one serving on the Executive Committee of the Board (Article 5.02). The Board retained all governing powers "except those reserved in these bylaws for ... the Council of Chapters," (Article 7.093). By virtue of its three Director votes, the Council was given more power than any one standing committee of the Board. The reorganized Board may consist of a total of 16 to 20 Officers and Directors (Article 7.02). In May 2014 a vote of the Chapter Representatives established Standard Operating Procedures for the Council and its first leadership: a Chair, Vice-chair, and Secretary. These three serve the dual role of Council Officers and Board Directors. The Council Chair serves on the Executive Committee of the Board. Council Directors serve a term of two years (Article 7.03).

Council of Chapters Charter as approved by the FNPS Board of Directors, August 11, 2018.

Copyright © 2020-09-23 Florida Native Plant Society